IF YOU HAVE RECENTLY MOVED TO MAINE, YOU HAVE 30 DAYS TO REGISTER YOUR VEHICLE AND OBTAIN A MAINE DRIVERS LICENSE. BUSINESS VEHICLES ARE NOT EXCEMPT.
MAINE REQUIRES INSURANCE ON ALL VEHICLES.
ONLY TWO EXEMPTIONS ALLOWED BY MAINE LAW:
1. ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY MEMBERS
2. STUDENTS ATTENDING MAINE COLLEGES IN A FULL TIME STATUS
Maine Law requires all new residents of the State to obtain a Maine Driver’s License and register their vehicle(s) in Maine within 30 days of establishing residency. Violations are punishable by a fine of up to $1000 and may be reported to the Maine Bureau of Taxation. Please contact the Lebanon Maine Town Hall with any questions. 207-457-6082
Links to the State Law is below.
LINK to STATE LAWS
Evasion of Registration fees and Excise Taxes
Persons Required to register